Awards and honors

May 4, 2022

Eilon Caspi

Adjunct Faculty Eilon Caspi, PhD, was invited to serve on the editorial board of the Journal of Applied Gerontology.

Wendy Looman

The abstract Resilience and Wellbeing: Youth Perceptions of Protective Factors During Normative and Non-Normative Stressors written by Professor Wendy Looman, PhD, APRN, CPNP-PC, was named a Distinguished Abstract among all abstracts submitted for paper presentation to the Midwest Nursing Research Society 2022 Annual Research Conference.

Lauren Martin and Barbara McMorris

Minnesota Youth Sex Trading Team, led by Associate Professor Lauren Martin, PhD, and Associate Professor Barb McMorris, PhD, received the Ally Award from the Minnesota Coalition Against Sexual Assault.

Siobhan McMahon

Associate Professor Siobhan McMahon, PhD, MPH, APRN, GNP-BC, was selected to be a Residential Fellow at the University of Minnesota’s Institute for Advanced Study in fall 2022.

Chris Mueller

Professor Christine Mueller, PhD, RN, FGSA, FAAN, was inducted into the Academy for Excellence in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning. The Academies for Excellence recognize outstanding faculty in the areas of scientific research, educational scholarship, clinical practice and team science. Mueller also received designation as a Distinguished Educator in Nursing from the National Hartford Center for Gerontological Nursing Excellence and was elected to the Board of Directors for the National Hartford Center for Gerontological Nursing Excellence.

Erica Timko Olson

Clinical Assistant Professor Erica Timko Olson, PhD, RN, was accepted to the 2022 cohort of the Environmental Health Research Institute for Nurse and Clinician Scientists.

Barbara Peterson

Clinical Associate Professor Barb Peterson, PhD, APRN, PMHCNS-BC, was inducted into the National Academies of Practice. In addition, she was appointed chair of the American Psychiatric Nurses Association Child and Adolescent Council Steering Committee.

Carolyn Porta

Professor Carolyn Porta, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN, FNAP, was appointed to serve as a member of the National Advisory Council on Nurse Education and Practice of the Health Resources and Services Administration.

Teddie Potter

Clinical Professor Teddie Potter, PhD, RN, FAAN, FNAP, is serving on the National Academy of Medicine‘s Action Collaborative on Decarbonizing the U.S. Health Sector.

Sripriya Rajamani

Clinical Associate Professor Sripriya Rajamani, PhD, MPH, MBBS, FAMIA, is serving as co-chair of Pathways Sub-Committee, a part of the Women in AMIA Initiative to bring more diverse talent to the American Medical Informatics Association. In addition, she will participate in recruitment efforts of the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee.

Sasha Skendzel

Clinical Assistant Professor Sasha Skendzel, DNP, APRN, ACNP-BC, ACRP-CP, was selected by the American Society for Transplantation and Cellular Therapy Survivorship SIG Steering Committee to receive the 2022 Early-Career Survivorship SIG Achievement Award.

Laurissa Stigen

Laurissa Stigen, MS, RN, coordinator of system campus partnerships, received the Minnesota Department of Health 2021 Rural Health Hero Award.

Categories: School News