Class notes

Class notes from the School of Nursing

March 26, 2020

a graduation cap

Linda Fuller, DNP ’18, joined the Mayo Clinic Health System in St. Peter as a family medicine provider.

Amy Hoelscher, DNP ’17, was named Retinopathy of Prematurity program manager at Children's Minnesota.

Deidra Heuring, DNP ’14, was named a Fellow in the inaugural cohort of the Johnson & Johnson Nurse Innovation Fellowship. The fellowship was developed in collaboration with the Center for Creative Leadership, a top global provider of executive leadership education, and Nurse Approved, LLC, whose mission is to equip nurses with innovation and entrepreneurial skills to lead and develop products, processes and services that contribute to the betterment of health care. Heuring is a staff nurse in the Post Anesthesia Care Unit at the St. Cloud Hospital. Her DNP specialty is integrative health and healing.

Kari Miller, DNP ‘14, received the March of Dimes Nurse of the Year award in the Innovative and Non-Traditional Nursing category. Miller was recognized for her achievement in driving the advancement of clinical services using technology to enhance productivity, improve member outcomes and achieve the enterprise clinical strategy. Miller is director of clinical informatics at Optum in Minneapolis.

Janice Springer, DNP ’12, was awarded the 2019 Florence Nightingale Medal by the International Committee of the Red Cross, which is one of the highest international distinctions a nurse can receive. She was recognized for extraordinary service in disaster situations and in public health and nursing education. Springer co-authored the American Red Cross Disaster Health and Sheltering course, which has been used to teach more than 18,000 nursing students nationwide how to serve as Disaster Health Services volunteers. In the past 15 years she has been deployed to 15 disaster relief operations, often serving as a leader. Based in central Minnesota, Springer serves as the disaster health services advisor for the American Red Cross Minnesota Region.

Elizabeth Burnett Rogers, DNP ’09, opened a practice in Ahwatukee, Arizona. She is a psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner. She is also an adjunct professor at Arizona State University.

M. Kathleen Murphy, DNP ’09, was elected chairperson of the Prevent Blindness Board of Directors at Prevent Blindness, the nation’s oldest volunteer eye health and safety organization. Murphy is a professor at the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston.

Ryannon Frederick, MS ’05, was named the chief nursing officer of Mayo Clinic. Previously, she was the chief nursing officer of Mayo Clinic in Florida. She began her Mayo Clinic career as part of a nursing internship program in 1999 before joining Mayo as a nurse in 2000. Since then, she's held roles as a nurse educator, manager and administrator.

Kuei-Min Chen, PhD ’00, MS ’96, was awarded the 2019 Distinguished Educator in Gerontological Nursing by the National Hartford Center of Gerontological Excellence. She is the first scholar in Taiwan to receive this honor. Chen has led development of five innovative exercise programs for older adults being used in over 200 community care centers and 20 long-term facilities in Taiwan. Chen is the director of Center for Long-term Care Research and master program of Long-Term Care in Aging at Kaohsiung Medical University.

Alumni Society Board of Directors

Marilyn Bach, MSN ’95, BSN ’74
Anya Butzer, BSN’18
DNP Student Representative
Anna Munson Carpenter, MN ’16
Jean Carraher, DNP ’16, MS ’03, BSN ’95
Yumi Izumi Davis, MN’16
Connie White Delaney
Maureen J Fuchs, BSN ’92
Ann Gershone, DNP ’17
Laura Kirk, PhD ’08, MS ’97, BSN ’95
Cheryl Lanigan, BSN ’73
Jaime Owens Levesque, MN ’16
Karen MacDonald, MSN ’87, BSN ’72
Shazia Mulla, MN ’17
Barbara Mullikin
Director of Alumni Relations and Annual Giving
Marjorie Page, DNP ’09, MSN ’95, BS ’93
Sheryl Ramstad, DNP ’17, MN ’13
Nicholas Schuler, BSN’18
Nicole Siddons, DNP ’16
Marc Skjervem
Director, Office of Student & Career Advancement Services
Julie Vanderboom, MSN ’88
Teri Verner, DNP ’12
Sara Weingartner
BSN Student Representative

Categories: Alumni News

Tags: Class Notes