Drake selected as AAN Fellow

October 17, 2019

Diana Drake

Clinical Associate Professor Diana Drake, DNP, APRN, WHNP, was selected as a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing. The achievement is considered one of the highest honors in the nursing profession.

Fellow selection criteria include evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care. Selection is based, in part, on the extent the nominee’s nursing career has influenced health policies and the health and wellbeing of all.

Drake is a women’s health nurse practitioner and is the director of faculty practice at the Women’s Health Specialists Clinic at the University of Minnesota Medical Center. “She has provided exemplary leadership to shape Minnesota’s first integrative women’s health clinic coupled with an intentional interprofessional learning experience for students,” said Christine Mueller, PhD, RN, FGSA, FAAN, senior executive associate dean for academic programs.

Drake is the specialty coordinator of the women’s health nurse practitioner Doctor of Nursing Practice program at the School of Nursing. She serves as chair-elect to the Nurse Practitioners in Women’s Health board of directors. “She adamant about influencing policy to improve care for women,” said Mueller.

Drake joins 33 faculty at the University of Minnesota School of Nursing who have been honored as AAN fellows.

3 alumni, 1 student join Academy

Three alumni of the school’s PhD program will be inducted to the Academy this year. They are Susan Gross Forneris, PhD, RN, CNE, CHSE-A; Karen E. Johnson, PhD, RN, FSAHM; and Sarah A. Stoddard, PhD, RN, CNP, FSAHM. Doctor of Nursing Practice student Katie Huffling, MS, RN, CNM, also will be inducted.

Those selected to join the Academy will be inducted at a ceremony in October.

Categories: School News