Graduate Scholarships

This list is subject to change based on donors' wishes and availability of funding. Scholarships notated with an asterisk symbol (*) may be renewable, once awarded, to qualified recipient the following year.

All Graduate Scholarships

Expand all

Agnes Dempster Scholarship

Established by Ruth Weise ('46 BSN) and friends in memory of Agnes "Nan" Dempster, a 1962 MS in neurosurgery U of MN graduate. Born in Scotland, Dempster's clinical interest was maternity. She also served on the Board of Nursing and worked with continuing education. Supports a currently enrolled nursing graduate student (master's or doctoral) who has completed at least 12 credits of graduate study and has at least a 3.50 GPA in graduate-level courses.

Dr. Alice Kuramoto Scholarship

Established by Dr. Alice Kuramoto (MS '69) to support nursing students pursuing graduate studies who demonstrate financial need. Preference is given to Asian students if they are underrepresented in the University.​

Beatrice L. Witt Scholarship

Established by the late Beatrice L. Witt ('28 BSN) to provide awards to nursing students in the doctoral or master's programs.

Bentson Doctor of Nursing Practice Scholarship

Supports students enrolled in the U of M School of Nursing, studying in the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) Program. Preference will be given to students interested in serving under-served populations, and students must remain in good academic standing to continue receiving the scholarship. Selection of recipients will be under the direction of the Office of Academic Programming the School of Nursing.

Claire Nelson and Nancy Schamber Student Nurse-Midwife Scholarship*

Created to honor Claire Nelson's and Nancy Schamber's retirement after 25 years of co-directing the Hennepin County Medical Center's Nurse-Midwife Service. The scholarship will support full-time DNP students in the School of Nursing's nurse-midwifery program, in good academic standing, who demonstrate exceptional potential in their field.

Cynthia Kelley O'Neill Scholarship for Psychiatric Nursing

Funded by the Margaret H. and James E. Kelley Foundation in memory of the foundation's visionary president, Cynthia Kelley O'Neill, to support students pursuing graduate studies at the master's or doctoral level in psychiatric mental health nursing.

Dorothy C. Calafiore Scholarship

Created by the late Dorothy Calafiore to provide scholarships for students pursuing professional nursing degrees through the School of Nursing who are advancing their preparation by enrolling in required and/or elective classes in the School of Public Health.

Eloise Bringgold Reichert Scholarship

The late Romaine R. Reichert established this scholarship in loving memory of Eloise, his wife and a 1923 BSN graduate. It is awarded to current graduate students in the Public Health Nursing area of study.

Florence Julian Memorial Scholarship

M. Isabel Harris, Dean Emerita of the School of Nursing, established this scholarship in memory of her friend, Florence Julian ('44 BSN, '52 MSN). It is awarded to graduate nursing students with demonstrated interest or aptitude in the area of nursing management.

Karen L. Brand Memorial Scholarship

Established by colleagues, friends and family in memory of former faculty member Karen. L. Brand, this scholarship is awarded to nurses advancing their education and professional careers by pursuing Master's degrees.

Kathleen Dineen Nurse-Midwifery Scholarship

Established upon her retirement by faculty and friends in recognition of Ms. Dineen’s service to the School’s midwifery program.

M. Isabel Harris Scholarship

Created by friends and family in memory of Isabel Harris, School of Nursing dean from 1969-1975, and an estate gift from Dr. Harris to provide scholarships for professional nursing students.

Mark Cavanaugh Memorial Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Scholarship

Mark Cavanaugh was a 27-year-old nurse with deep empathy for children with serious illnesses. His dream was to earn his Doctor of Nursing Practice degree so he could help sick children on the journey toward better health. Although aplastic anemia took Mark's life on November 12, 2013, his legacy of delivering compassionate care to our smallest patients can be carried forward by graduates of the School of Nursing at the University of Minnesota. James and Ann Cavanaugh celebrate the life of their son, Mark, by establishing a scholarship fund in his memory. In doing so, the Cavanaughs will help to alleviate students' financial burdens and allow them to focus on the calling to care for critically-ill children.

Mark K. and Cyrus A. Field Scholarship - Professional*

Created by the late Mary Field to provide payments to full-time professional students in the School of Nursing. Awards are for new students with academic promise. The award may be used to cover the cost of tuition, fees, and academic books.

Ned and Noreen Zimmerman Nursing Scholarship

The Ned and Noreen Zimmerman Nursing Scholarship recognizes the critical role nurses play in the delivery of primary and community care, health promotion, education, and research. By supporting students in the Master of Nursing program, the fund will help to further advance nursing and nursing education.

Nottage Scholarship for Graduate Nursing Education

Supports students pursuing post-graduate degrees in the School of Nursing. Funds are awarded at the discretion of the Dean.

Pauline A. Vincent Scholarship

The late Pauline A. Vincent ('56 MPH) established this scholarship to support nursing students majoring in public health nursing. Awards are based on academic excellence and financial need.

Shirley A. Berglund Nursing Scholarship*

Created by Shirley A. Berglund ('61 BSN) to provide support for new full-time professional students in the School of Nursing with preference given to baccalaureate-prepared nurses currently practicing at Bethesda Hospital in St. Paul, MN who have an interest in advancing their nursing education and the goal of becoming nurse practitioners. At the discretion of the Dean of Nursing, scholarships can be renewable to the initial student recipient(s).

Veronica Pec Gault Memorial Scholarship

Created by the late Patricia L. Gault ('65 BSN, '67 MA) in loving memory of her devoted mother and in grateful recognition of Veronica's inspiring role as the loving caregiver of the Gault family. Provides scholarships for graduate level nursing students preparing for careers in geriatric health care delivery.

Violet A. Shea Nursing Scholarship/Fellowship

The late Violet A. Shea created this scholarship through her estate to enhance the recruitment of high ability graduate nursing students with a preference for supporting doctoral students.