Awards and honors

(March 2019) Awards and honors from the School of Nursing.

March 21, 2019

Clinical Assistant Professor Shanda Demorest, DNP, RN-BC, PHN, received the Health and Well-Being Award from the Women’s Health Leadership Trust.

Clinical Assistant Professor Nasra Giama, DNP, RN, PHN, was selected for the 2018-2019 Internationalizing Teaching and Learning Faculty Cohort Program, which engages faculty in professional development aimed at internationalizing the curriculum.

Professor Ruth Lindquist, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN, was named to the Academic Health Center’s Academy for Excellence for Scholarship of Teaching and Learning.

Clinical Assistant Professor Dan Lovinaria, DNP, MBA, APRN, CRNA, was named to the Nurses on Boards Coalition, representing the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists. In addition he was named an Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Social Media Ambassador.

Associate Professor Karen Monsen, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAMIA, and Clinical Associate Professor Sripriya Rajamani, PhD, MPH, MBBS, FAMIA, were named to the inaugural class of Fellows of the American Medical Informatics Association.

Professor Carolyn Porta, PhD, MPH, RN, SANE-A, FAAN, received the Leadership Award from the Women’s Health Leadership Trust.

Associate Professor Kris Talley, PhD, APRN, GNP-BC, FGSA, and Clinical Assistant Professor Mary Goering, PhD, RN-BC, were each named a Distinguished Educator in Gerontological Nursing by the National Hartford Center of Gerontological Nursing Excellence. 

Associate Professor Emeritus Bonnie Westra, PhD, RN, FAAN, FACMI, received the Virginia K. Saba Informatics Award from the American Medical Informatics Association.

Clinical Assistant Professor Barbara Champlin, PhD, RN, Clinical Associate Professor Andra Fjone, DrPh, APRN, CPNP, Clinical Instructor Dawn Fredrich, MS, RN, Clinical Assistant Professor Raney Linck, DNP, RN, Clinical Assistant Professor Maria Ruud, DNP, APRN, WHNP-BC, and Clinical Assistant Professor Mary Steffes, DNP, RN, ACNS-BC, were selected to participate in the Academic Health Center Fellowship for Teaching in Active Learning Classrooms. The fellowship supports using effective pedagogical approaches in Active Learning Classrooms in the new Health Sciences Education Center.

The University of Minnesota received the top two spots in the Best Student Poster competition at the Nurse Practitioners in Women’s Health Premier Women’s Healthcare Conference in San Antonio, Texas. Madalyn Carlin, RN, BS, received first place for her poster Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS) Provider Toolkit with Clinical Assistant Professor Stephanie Delkoski, DNP, APRN, WHNP-BC. Hanna Middlebrook, RN, BSN, received second place for Increasing the Rates of Pharyngeal and Rectal Site Testing for Chlamydia and Gonorrhea at an Adolescent Sexual Health Clinics with Clinical Assistant Professor Maria Ruud, DNP, APRN, WHNP-BC.

Categories: School News