Class notes

(April 2021) School of Nursing alumni news for Spring-Summer 2021.

April 7, 2021

a graduation cap

Caroline Bunker Rosdahl, BSN ’60, wrote the book, The Naked City: True Stories and Revelations about the Real Life World of Nursing. This book shares a lifetime of personal stories and experiences that illustrate how the nursing profession can be highly rewarding and interesting, as well as full of unexpected twists and turns and amazing experiences. She is also the author of the classic perennial bestselling Textbook of Basic Nursing, now in its 11th edition.

Jeffery Wicklander, MS ’01, was named president of Aspirus Wausau Hospital & Central Region in Wisconsin. He brings more than 24 years of health care experience to his new role, with the foundation of his career being based on his clinical experience as a nurse and nurse practitioner. Previously, he was president of North Memorial Health Care and was vice president of patient care and chief nursing officer at Allina Health-United Hospital.

Sandra Fonkert, MS ’02, BSN ’74, was named a finalist for the staff nurse Nurse of the Year award. She is a nurse at M Health Fairview.

Brent Katzenberger, BSN ‘03, was named Cuyuna Regional Medical Center’s director of clinical informatics. In his new position, he will focus on oversight, support and optimization for Excellian, the electronic medical record technology, and related interfaced clinical software applications.

Maria Raines, MS ’04, was named the Nurse of the Year in Leadership by March of Dimes. She is the vice president and chief nursing officer of University of Minnesota and Masonic Children’s Hospitals at M Health Fairview.

Anne Boisclair-Fahey, DNP ’07, MSN ‘97, was named interim chief nursing officer at Children’s Minnesota. Boisclair-Fahey has served as director for advanced practice providers at Children’s Minnesota since 2017.

Lori Ranney, MSN ’07, received the Dianne Fochtman New Author Award from the Association of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Nurses.

Sarah Stoddard, PhD ’09, MS ’99, was appointed to the CDC Community Preventive Services Task Force. Nationally recognized for her expertise in adolescent health and her interdisciplinary research to prevent substance use and violence among vulnerable populations of youth, Stoddard is an associate professor in the Schools of Nursing and Public Health at the University of Michigan. She is also director of the Training and Education Core for the University of Michigan Injury Prevention Center.

Michael Petty, PhD ’11, MS ’96, was named the Nurse of the Year in Advanced Practice by March of Dimes. He’s a cardiothoracic clinical nurse specialist at M Health Fairview and an adjunct clinical assistant professor at the School of Nursing.

Megan Workman, DNP ’13, was elected to be the mayor of Aitkin, Minnesota. Workman is also a certified nurse midwife at Riverwood Healthcare.

Tucker Annis, DNP ’15, was named a finalist for the Nurse of the Year award in innovative and non-traditional nursing by March of Dimes. He is a clinical informaticist at University of Minnesota Physicians.

Ann Forster Page, DNP ’17, MS ’01, BSN ’99, was named the Distinguished Nurse of the Year by March of Dimes. She is the University of Minnesota Physicians nurse-midwife service director and an adjunct clinical assistant professor at the School of Nursing.

Reade Selcke, BSN ’17, began a position at Iora Primary Care in Denver, Colorado in chronic disease management with a specific focus on diabetes and COPD in the elderly patient population.

Jenna Berendzen, DNP ’19, co-hosts a new podcast called The Nightingale Project — Where the Healing Begins, which features real stories from the nursing community about topics such as loneliness, resilience and the realities of caregiving during a pandemic. She is a psychiatric nurse practitioner in Hiawatha, Iowa.

Julia Beyer, BSN ‘19, received a Daisy Award after being nominated by a patient who was moved by her personalized care and thoughtful attention during their time together. Beyer is a nurse on the post surgical unit at United Hospital.

Katelyn Kemmetmueller, BSN ’20, will return to the Gopher softball squad for the 2021 season, after her senior year softball season cancelled because of COVID-19. She is pursuing a certificate in human resource and development, interested at the management side of nursing while gaining more experience in her field. She was the first Gopher softball player to graduate from the nursing program at the University of Minnesota.

Meghan (Hultman) Tierney, PhD ’20, was named the Nurse of the Year in Education and Research by March of Dimes. She is a clinical scientist at PicnicHealth, which is a health care tech startup that works directly with patients to collect medical records across health care systems and make them accessible in a secure online dashboard.


Categories: Alumni News

Tags: Class Notes