All Articles: Awards


Assistant Professor Cynthia Bradley, PhD, RN, CNE, CHSE, will be inducted into the prestigious Academy of Nursing Education by the National League for Nursing (NLN).

John Spillane

John J. Spillane, of Wayzata, received the University of Minnesota School of Nursing’s Richard Olding Beard Award today.

Sarah Hoffman, Martin Michalowski, Lisiane Pruinelli and Barb Peterson

The University of Minnesota Board of Regents approved the promotions of four faculty in the School of Nursing.

April Taylor, Angelica Walton and Anna Robinson

Three nursing students were named recipients of the President’s Student Leadership and Service Award for their exceptional leadership and service to the University of Minnesota and the surrounding community.

DNP students Courtney Kenefick and Veronica Callaghan

Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) students Courtney Kenefick, BSN, RN, CPN, and Veronica Callaghan, BSN, RN, were named recipients of the Sandra R. Edwardson Award for Excellence in Post-Baccalaureate DNP Scholarly Project.

All-school staff and faculty

The School of Nursing celebrated faculty and staff at the Spring Gala in May.

Clinical Associate Professor Barbara Peterson, PhD, PMHCNS, APRN, FNAP, was inducted into the National Academies of Practice.

Professor Wendy Looman’s abstract Resilience and Wellbeing: Youth Perceptions of Protective Factors During Normative and Non-Normative Stressors was named a Distinguished Abstract among all abstracts submitted for paper presentation to the Midwest Nursing Research Society 2022 Annual Research Conference.

Christine Mueller, PhD, RN, FGSA, FAAN, professor and senior executive associate dean for Academic Programs, received designation as a Distinguished Educator in Nursing from the National Hartford Center for Gerontological Nursing Excellence (NHCGNE). She was also elected to the NHCGNE Board of Directors.

Diane Twedell

Diane Twedell, DNP, MS ‘99, RN, CENP, FAONL, is one of two nurse leaders from Minnesota being inducted into the 2021 Class of Fellows by the American Academy of Nursing. Twedell is a nurse administer at Mayo Clinic in Rochester.