All Articles: News

The Fall 2021 Commencement Ceremony will be held in person on Dec. 17 at 2 p.m. at Northrop. Shonda Craft, PhD, LMFT, dean of the College of Health and Wellness Professions at St. Cloud State University, will deliver the commencement address.

Collaboratory to be a nursing think tank and incubator for creativity and innovation

Known for her selfless sharing of herself and her gifts, Tollefsrud was a professor of nursing at St. Olaf College for 44 years and served as a colonel in the U.S. Army Nurse Corp for 29 years.

The University of Minnesota School of Nursing and the Pal College of Nursing and Medical Sciences in India signed a 10 year agreement for academic and research association. Leaders from Pal College and the University of Minnesota participated in a virtual signing ceremony in September.

Christine Mueller, PhD, RN, FGSA, FAAN, professor and senior executive associate dean for Academic Programs, received designation as a Distinguished Educator in Nursing from the National Hartford Center for Gerontological Nursing Excellence (NHCGNE). She was also elected to the NHCGNE Board of Directors.

A virtual launch event for latest issue of Creative Nursing, In It Together: Promoting Planetary Health, will be hosted by the University of Minnesota School of Nursing, Creative Nursing and Springer Publishing.

Carolyn Porta, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN, professor and associate vice president for clinical affairs, was appointed to serve as a member of the National Advisory Council on Nurse Education and Practice (NACNEP) of the Health Resources and Services Administration.

For the sixth consecutive year, the University of Minnesota School of Nursing received the Health Professions Higher Education Excellence in Diversity (HEED) Award from INSIGHT Into Diversity Magazine

Diane Twedell

Diane Twedell, DNP, MS ‘99, RN, CENP, FAONL, is one of two nurse leaders from Minnesota being inducted into the 2021 Class of Fellows by the American Academy of Nursing. Twedell is a nurse administer at Mayo Clinic in Rochester.