3 Minnesotans honored with ANA Innovation Awards

March 14, 2023

Roxanne McMurray Kevin Smith and Robin Austin

Three Minnesotans received recognition by the American Nurses Association and the American Nurses Foundation, which recently announced the winners of the 2023 ANA Innovation Awards. The awards highlight, recognize and celebrate exemplary nurse innovators who improve patient safety and health outcomes.

Roxanne McMurray, DNP, APRN, CRNA, and the McMurray Team received the Nurse-led Team Award. McMurray, who is a former faculty member, leads the team that developed the Distal Pharyngeal Airway (DPA), which is a breathing tool that stents open throat tissue to maintain adequate ventilation for surgery or other medical procedures. McMurray and her team saw a gap in available and effective airway management tools for populations who suffered from breathing complications, which led to the creation of DPA.

Kevin Smith, DNP ‘14, FNP, FAANP, was named the recipient of the Individual Nurse Award. Smith, who graduated from the University of Minnesota’s Doctor of Nursing Practice program in 2014, is the creative mind behind The Good Clinic, a Minnesota-based, modern primary care model that provided patients age 12 or older with holistic wellness.

Assistant Professor Robin Austin, PhD, DNP, DC, RN-BC, FAMIA, FNAP, received an honorable mention in the Individual Nurse Award category for MyStrengths + MyHealth: A Comprehensive Whole-Person Health & Resilience Assessment.

Categories: Awards


Media Contacts

Steve Rudolph
School of Nursing