3 nursing students receive President’s Student Leadership and Service Award

June 13, 2022

April Taylor, Angelica Walton and Anna Robinson

From left, Angelica Walton, Anna Robinson and April Taylor at commencement in May.

Three nursing students were named recipients of the President’s Student Leadership and Service Award for their exceptional leadership and service to the University of Minnesota and the surrounding community. They are April Taylor, a Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) student in the nurse anesthesia specialty; Angelica Walton, a DNP student in the integrative health and healing specialty; and Anna Robinson, a Bachelor of Science in Nursing student.

Taylor was nominated because she is an exemplary leader, demonstrated by her DNP project Increasing Nurse Anesthesia Engagement and Interest Among Diverse Nursing Students: A Quality Improvement Project.

As a student, Walton volunteered with the non-profit organization Face-to-Face Health and Counseling, which supports unhoused LGBTQ youth. She was nominated because of her ability to cultivate human connection, connect with others to provide comfort, and her deep appreciation for diversity.

Robinson served as the Minnesota Nursing Student Board president and demonstrated resilience, tolerance of ambiguity, responsibility and accountability.

All three students graduated in May.

The President’s Student Leadership and Service Award recognizes the accomplishments and contributions of outstanding student leaders at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities. It is a collaboration between the Office of the President, Office for Student Affairs, University of Minnesota Alumni Association and Student Unions & Activities.

Media Contacts

Steve Rudolph
School of Nursing